Board of Directors

Louis M. Todd, Sr.


Louis Todd, Sr., president of Todd & Associates, LLC. As Chairperson of the Memorial Health System Board of Trustees, Mr. Todd presides over a group of community leaders in finance, media, public policy and business who volunteer their time and talents to advocate for the hospital.

A native of Lake Charles, Mr. Todd is a graduate of McNeese State University with a degree in business administration. His commercial insurance agency, Todd & Associates, was designed to encourage relationships with his clients based on integrity and experience, with personal service. His specialties include hospitals, physicians, and various allied healthcare facilities.

In addition to serving on the Memorial board, he currently serves as a board member of the Memorial Hospital Foundation, and board member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. Mr. Todd is also the immediate past chairman of LAMMICO Insurance Company’s Agent Advisory Board, past president of Imperial Calcasieu Museum, past president of Christmas In April, and past board member of Junior Achievement.

Denise Emerson Rau

Past Chairperson

A graduate of Newcomb College of Tulane University with a Bachelor of Science and of the University of Texas Graduate School of Business with a Master of Business Administration, Ms. Rau is a Certified Financial Planner and president of Rau Financial Group. She previously served as a Certified Financial Planner for Guardian Life Insurance Company; Senior Vice President for Bank One in Lake Charles; Vice President of First Union National Bank in North Carolina; and Assistant Vice President with First Republic Bank in Dallas.

In addition to her affiliation with Memorial, Ms. Rau is past-president of the Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd Foundation; past-president of the Junior League of Lake Charles; and on the H.C. Drew Estate Advisory Board at McNeese Satate University.

Joe Miller Jr.

Vice Chairman

A native of Lake Charles, Joe Miller is currently an Agent and Registered Representative of New York Life Insurance and Annuity Corporation, and New York Life Investment Management. He previously served as Controller for F. Miller and Sons General Contractors.

He has served as President of Calcasieu Area Council of Boy Scouts of America and remains a member of the Executive Board. He was the United Way Campaign Chair in 2005, is a Past Member of Tiger Athletic Foundation Advisory Board and currently a Co-Chair of the American Heart Association Gala.

Gerry Hebert, MD

Medical Staff President

Dr. Gerry Hebert, a internal medicine physician with Memorial Medical Group, serves on the Memorial Health System Board of Trustees as presidentof the medical staff. Dr. Hebert assumes the responsibility of performance improvement, quality assurance and physician advocacy.

He is a graduate of Louisiana State University School of Medicine and completed his internship and residency at the Louisiana State University School of Medicine/Charity Hospital.

Leroy Fredericks, MD

Medical Staff Past-President

As Past -President of the Lake Charles Memorial Medical Staff, Dr. Leroy Fredericks was involved with many aspects of Memorial Heath System, including performance improvement, quality assurance, and physician advocacy, and he is now an active part of Memorial's Board of Trustees.

He graduated from Louisiana State University School of Medicine in New Orleans, LA, where he also completed both his internship and residency in internal medicine and medical onoclogy.

Mohammed Sarwar, MD

Medical Staff President - Elect

Dr. Mohammed Sarwar, an internal medicine physician with Memorial Medical Group, serves on the Memorial Health System Board of Trustees as president-elect of the medical staff. In the absence of the president, Dr. Sarwar will assume the responsibility of performance improvement, quality assurance and physician advocacy.

He has been practicing medicine at Moss Regional Medical Center since 1997. Dr. Sarwar has been certified by the American Diabetes Association in quality assurance as a preferred diabetes lead provider. He is an assistant professor of Medicine and Fellow for the American Collage of Physicians and is an active teacher in family medicine and training of LSU residents.

Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux


A chief judge on the Third Circuit Court of Appeal, Judge Thibodeaux has been a member of Memorial Hospital's Board of Trustees since 2000. Prior to his election to the bench in 1992, Judge Thibodeaux practiced law for 17 years in New York City and Lake Charles, Louisiana, and served as a Lake Charles City Court Judge for a year.

An honors graduate of Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, Judge Thibodeaux earned his law degree from Tulane University Law School.

He is a member of the American Bar Association, American Judges Association, the Judicial Council of the National Bar Association, and the National Board of Trustees of the Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law. He is also a member of the Board of Governors of the Louisiana Judicial College, serves on the Louisiana State Law Institute, and is Vice-Chairman of the Louisiana Judicial Compensation Commission and past chairman of the Conference of Court of Appeal Judges. He is past president of the National Council of Chief Judges. Judge Thibodeaux also serves as president of the Lake Charles Charter Academy Foundation, Inc.

Mitchell Adrian


Mitchell Adrian is the JP Morgan Chase Bank Endowed Professor of Management at McNeese State University. He is the recipient of a number of teaching and advising awards, including the Fuqua Award for Teaching Excellence. His research interests include organizational culture, business ethics and diversity issues as well as pedagogy in higher education. His academic publications include journals such as the Journal of the Academy of Business Administration, International Review of Retail, Distribution and Consumer Research, the Journal of Hospitality and Leisure Marketing, and the Journal of Education for Business.

A native of Lake Charles, Dr. Adrian earned his D.B.A. in Management from Mississippi State University, an MBA from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, TX, and a BS in Management from McNeese State University.

Dr. Adrian’s work experience includes retail operations, logistics, and project and construction management. He currently serves on numerous advisory and management boards including the Angels of Southwest Louisiana (angel investor group), Habitat for Humanity, and the Coushatta Economic Development Board.

Richard Martinez, MD


Dr. Richard Martinez, a radiologist with Memorial Medical Group, serves on theMemorial Health System Board of Trustees.

He is a graduate of Louisiana State University School of Medicine and completed his internship and residency at the Louisiana State University Health and Sciences Center. He is a member of Louisiana State Medical Society, Calcasieu Parish Medical Society, and the American College of Radiology.

Alan LeBato, MD


Dr. Alan L. LeBato is a board certified family medicine physician with Memorial Medical Group and Memorial/Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center (LSUHSC). In addition to treating patients of all ages and medical conditions, Dr. LeBato also serves as program director of the LSUHSC Family Medicine residency program at Memorial.

A graduate of LSUHSC School of Medicine in Shreveport, Dr. LeBato also completed his internship and residency in family medicine at W.O. Moss Regional Hospital in Lake Charles, where he served as chief resident. He is also a graduate of the National Institute of Program Director Development.

Dr. LeBato is a member of many prestigious medical organizations, including the American Academy of Family Physicians, Louisiana Academy of Family Physicians, Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, and the Louisiana State Medical Society.