Our Health Library section is currently undergoing maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Find It Fast!


Search Our Site


My Health Tools


Online Services

page graphic
  • Text Size

News Archive

Monday, June 28, 2010 - Memorial Family Medicine Residents Graduate

State Senator Willie Landry Mount, was the keynote speaker when nine physicians graduated from the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program on Monday, June 28.

Members of the 10th graduating class, Jason Baesler, MD, Megha Chandoke, MD, Andres Guillermo, MD, Ameer Khan, MD, Aaron Marquardt, MD, Johnny Segura, MD, Slade Smith, MD, Danielle Walz, MD, and Benjamin Williams, MD, received diplomas for having completed the three-year residency program. Drs. Segura and Williams were Chief Residents.

“These graduates have been an asset to this program, and I believe they will be a credit to the communities where they will practice medicine,” said Alan L. LeBato M.D., Director of the Residency Program.

The Family Medicine Residency Program began in January 1995, with a mission to promote and provide the highest quality physician education through patient care by utilizing the most up-to-date educational methods and information systems.

The community-based program was granted provisional accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education in January 1996, and full accreditation in January 2002.  It received 5 years of continuing full accreditation in April, 2009, the longest period allowed by the ACGME. 

A native of Lake Charles, Louisiana and the first woman elected Louisiana State Senator from District 27, Willie Mount is a graduate of Lake Charles High School and holds a B.S. degree in Business Administration from McNeese State University.

She is currently serving her third term in the State Senate and chairs the Health and Welfare Committee. She is a member of the Transportation, Legislative Audit Advisory and Judiciary C Committees, and also serves on the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget, Select Committee on Women and Children, Select Committee on Coastal Restoration & Flood Control, Child Poverty Prevention Council, NCSL Health Committee, Southern Growth Policies Board, and is an interim member of the Senate Committee on Finance.

She previously served as Chairwoman of Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Committee, as vice-chair of the Education Committee and was a member of the following committees:  Senate Select Committee on Consumer Affairs, Judiciary B, State Technology Advisory, Millennium Port, Dyslexia Study Committee, Reading Leadership Team, Joint Legislative Juvenile Justice, School Finance Review, Commission on French, and the Commission on Best Practices in School Discipline.

"The LSU Health Science Center Family Medicine residency program is vital to Southwest Louisiana and the entire state,” said the senator. “Because of the excellent comprehensive training provided within our sponsoring institution, Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, these caring physicians provide hospital and outpatient care for the citizens of Southwest Louisiana.  They also serve in the Memorial ER department and the Moss Regional Medical Center ER and outpatients clinics."

Since the Memorial/LSUHSC Residency Program’s inception, 90 medical school graduates have selected Lake Charles as their residency site. Of the 64 graduates of the residency program, 43 are practicing in Louisiana, and the others are practicing in Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Colorado, Tennessee, Texas, Nevada, Utah and Oregon. One graduate is working through an international medical mission.

All but one of the most recent graduates plan to remain in Louisiana following graduation: Drs. Chandoke, Khan and Williams will practice in Lake Charles; Drs. Baesler and Guillermo will practice in DeRidder; Dr. Segura will practice in Jennings; Drs. Smith and Marquardt will practice in Monroe; and Dr. Walz will practice in San Antonio, Texas.

Larry Graham, CEO of Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, said the Residency Program's 10th graduation represented the culmination of many years of effort and collaboration between the Medical Staff, the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center—New Orleans, and Memorial Hospital.

"I greatly appreciate everyone who has worked so diligently in making the Family Medicine Residency Program successful, enabling Memorial Hospital to help meet the need for family medicine physicians in our community and region," Graham said.

Third year residents continuing their training are: Jevin Bordelon, MD, Jessica Chaudary, MD, Kamran Chaudary, MD, Rocky Fowler, MD, Tolvert Fowler, II, MD, Tejal Jetha, MD, and Manhhai Nguyen, MD. Second-year residents include: Jean Ancelet, MD, Ben Degatur, MD, Nick Heinen, MD, Lacey Millet, MD, and Melissa Rasberry, MD, Rick Edwards, MD, and Fallon McManus, MD, and Rajalakshmi Natarajan, MD.

The Family Medicine Residency Program provides residents an opportunity to care for patients at the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Center, perform hospital rotations with physician mentors, and attend educational conferences. It models a traditional family medicine clinic by assigning each patient and their family to a resident. The resident serves as the patient's primary caregiver during their three years of residency training. Each resident is under the supervision of a faculty physician.

The program utilizes the talents of a full-time faculty consisting of board-certified family medicine physicians. In addition to Dr. Alan LeBato, the faculty includes: E. Jay Soileau, MD, Bryan G. Barootes, MD, Danette Null, MD, Tuananh Pham, MD, and David DeWitt, D. Min. The program is also supported by a part-time physician faculty that includes: Mark Dawson, MD, MBA, David L. Dobbins, MD, PhD, Susan Drez, MD, Charles Humphries, MD, Bradley Loewer, M.D, Keane O’Neal, MD, Arthur W. Primeaux, MD, and Patrick Unkel, MD.

“The Residency Program will continue to train medical school graduates who wish to specialize in family medicine and who are willing to serve underserved populations,” Dr. LeBato said. “We look forward to honoring many more graduates in the future.”

For more information about the Family Medicine Residency Program and Family Medicine Center at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital, call (337) 494-2023.

Members of Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Residency Program’s 10th graduating class, (l-r) Slade Smith, MD, Johnny Segura, MD, Megha Chandoke, MD, Danielle Walz, MD, Aaron Marquardt, MD, Benjamin Williams, MD, Andres Guillermo, MD, Jason Baesler, MD, and Ameer Khan, MD, received diplomas for having completed the three-year residency program on June 28, 2010

layout graphic
© Copyright 2014 Lake Charles Memorial Health System. All Rights Reserved.Pencil

Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Terms of Use | Website Feedback | Directions | HIPAA

Everything Your Healthcare Should Be
Lake Charles Memorial Health System
1701 Oak Park Boulevard
Lake Charles, LA 70601
(337) 494-3000
Physicians & Employees Only