Our Health Library section is currently undergoing maintenance. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Find It Fast!


Search Our Site


My Health Tools


Online Services

page graphic
  • Text Size

News Archive

Tuesday, August 03, 2010 - Memorial Hospital Welcomes New Family Medicine Residents

Lake Charles Memorial Hospital proudly welcomes the eight newest additions to the Memorial/LSU Health Sciences Center Family Medicine Residency Program. These physicians, who will spend the next three years focusing on all areas of the specialty of Family Medicine, were among applicants across the country who participated in the National Residency Matching Program.

These first year residents, who will graduate in June 2013, are Matthew Courville, MD, of Kinder, Louisiana; Mandy Crow, MD, of Benton, Louisiana; Andrew Davies, MD, of New Iberia, Louisiana; Tommy Gould, MD, of Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Lynda Mbah, MD, of Dallas, Texas; Lanminh Pham, MD, of Abbeville, Louisiana; Danielle Rushing, MD, of Monroe, Louisiana; and Joshua Whatley, MD, of Iowa, Louisiana.

Drs. Courville, Davies and Pham are graduates of LSUHSC-New Orleans School of Medicine; Drs. Crow, Gould, Rushing and Whatley are graduates of LSUHSC-Shreveport School of Medicine; and Dr. Mbah is a graduate of the University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

The Family Medicine Residency Program began in January 1995, with a mission to promote and provide the highest quality physician education through patient care by utilizing the most up-to-date educational methods and information systems.

The community-based program was granted provisional accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education in January 1996, and full accreditation in January 2002.  It has remained fully accredited since that time and received a 5 year continuing accreditation in April, 2009, the longest cycle approved by the ACGME. 

Since the program’s inception, 79 medical school graduates have selected Lake Charles as their residency training site. Of the 55 graduates of the residency program, 35 are practicing in Louisiana, and the others are practicing in Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, Colorado, Tennessee, Texas, Nevada, Utah and Oregon. One graduate is working through an international medical mission.

The faculty includes Alan LeBato, MD, program director and assistant professor of Clinical Family Medicine; Earl J. Soileau, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Family Medicine; Bryan Barootes, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Family Medicine; Danette Null, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Family Medicine; Tuananh Pham, MD, assistant professor of Clinical Family Medicine; and David DeWitt, D. Min. The program is also supported by a part-time physician faculty that includes: Mark Dawson, MD, MBA, David L. Dobbins, MD, PhD, Susan Drez, MD, Charles Humphries, MD, Bradley Loewer, M.D, Keane O’Neal, MD, Arthur W. Primeaux, MD, and Patrick Unkel, MD.

Same day appointments are usually available at the Memorial/LSUHSC Family Medicine Clinic, which is located at 1525 Oak Park Boulevard. For more information or to schedule an appointment, call (337) 494-6767.

layout graphic
© Copyright 2014 Lake Charles Memorial Health System. All Rights Reserved.Pencil

Home | Contact Us | Site Map | Terms of Use | Website Feedback | Directions | HIPAA

Everything Your Healthcare Should Be
Lake Charles Memorial Health System
1701 Oak Park Boulevard
Lake Charles, LA 70601
(337) 494-3000
Physicians & Employees Only