Open Accessibility Menu

Laboratory Technologist Program

The School of Medical Technology program is housed in the Pathology Department of Lake Charles Memorial Hospital which is approximately 9,600 square feet of work and office area. Our Clinical Laboratory Science Program is accredited by the NAACLS (National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences) through the AMA (American Medical Association).

Two full-time pathologists aided by both a pathology director and clinical support supervisor direct the department. The Medical Technology Program accepts 8-10 students per year using the semester cycle in January and August. The program is affiliated with two Louisiana Universities from which the majority of our students are accepted: McNeese State University and LA Tech University. The clinical program is approximately 12 months and culminates in a certificate of completion with the individual university granting 40 semester hours credit for the clinical rotation year and a BS degree in Medical Technology, where applicable. This certificate allows the student to sit for a national certification examination which is recognized worldwide.

Students who are interested in participating in this program should be enrolled in a Medical Technology program, be in their junior or senior year and have met the prerequisites required. Alternate pathways may be available and can be discussed with the program director. A list of these prerequisites can be obtained as well as any other information by contacting the program director at

LCMH School of Medical Technology Program Outcome Measures

  • The program at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital received a 10 year accreditation from The National Accreditation Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS) awarded on September 27, 2019 and ending on October 31, 2029. NAACLS contact info below:
    • 5600 N. River Rd, Suite 720 Rosemont IL 60018-5119
    • phone: 773.714.8880; fax: 773.714.8886